And I Was Doing So Well…

Friday night…Opening Ceremonies… my needles were at the ready, and I was SET! I had swatched and figured what size needles I needed. And when the “shaman-like figure” struck the anvil for the first time and the flames shot out…I cast on! I know, the flame wasn’t lit at that point, but since the rules said to cast on at 2 p.m. local time, and it was now nearly 10 p.m., I figured all was good. *grin*

So I worked…and worked… and wondered what the heck was with parts of the ceremonies… until I had my first two cable repeats. I can’t tell you how excited I was.

Then the next morning I went to knitting class.

On Saturday mornings I take a class at my LYS. It’s not a class on anything specific, it’s just a way for a bunch of us to go and get help on whatever we’re working on now. I had dropped a stitch in my HP Scarf, and I needed to learn how to fix it.

As I was sitting there with my knitting pal looking at my Knitting Olympic project, I decided that as pretty as my cables were, I really needed to go up a size needle. Using my size 8’s were still too tight. So rather than frog what I had already on the off chance I liked it better on 9’s, I dug out another ball of my yarn and started all over.

Yup. I liked it better on the 9’s. Damn.

Frog…Frog…Frog…

Then I went to another knitting pal’s house to sit and knit and watch the games, and I kept knitting… and knitting… and loading audio books to her computer… and knitting… and knitting…

But by the end of the day, look at what I had! Progress at last! It’s still a little stiff, but I think it’s the cables.

So finally…after a long two days…I’m FINALLY on the road to Gold!

And now for day 2…

The Guppy
aka The Fish With Sticks

One response

  1. Wow! Glad your scarf turned out better! It looks great–I love the horseshoe pattern.

    Lol…the “shaman like figure” was a tad scary in my opinion. =)

Leave a Reply

