Cabin Fever

As the three of you those of you who read this blog know, my mother, aunt, and cousin are all quilters. Some of my closest friends are quilters, and I’m an honorary member of a quilting group my mother has belonged to since I was a teenager. I tried it and it was okay. But quilting never fired my imagination or soothed my soul the way knitting does. Knitting not only gives me something beautiful as an end product, but the process itself fits seamlessly into my life. This August will be three years since I started knitting, and I don’t quite remember what I used to do before it.

I was at my favorite LYS a couple weekends ago and I admired a shawl Shannita had made. And when I looked closely I realized my worlds had collided. It was the Anthracite Shawl (Ravel it!) from Knitter’s Magazine. It was a beautiful shawl knit in Noro Silk Garden using a Log Cabin pattern all in garter stitch. So while sitting there at A Mano’s table, I decided I was going to make one. It turns out I had what I thought would be enough yarn at home, but I picked up a couple of extra balls just in case. It’s turning out really lovely, but a bit smaller since I’m using a lighter weight yarn (Silk Garden Lite).

I. Love. This. Pattern. It’s the perfect project when you just want to whip something up. It’s easy to do, fairly portable, and because it’s all garter, simple to just do a couple stitches here and there when you have time. Once I finish this one, I may make one in Silk Garden for something a bit heavier. (Check the comments for the inevitable motherly comment about how much SHE needs one, too!).

So here it is about 2 1/2 skeins in (click for big)…

The color’s off, but I’ll fix that when I take my FO glamour shot. LOL. I’m hoping to finish this in time to wear when I go see “A Chorus Line” downtown in two weeks. I can’t imagine I won’t make it. I’ve been working on it for a week and I’m down to the last three sections. Granted, they’re doozies, but it should be doable.

Lynda the Guppy
aka The Fish With Sticks

 

2 responses

  1. Quilting mothers would look REALLY good in lightweight quilt pattern shawls like this!!! I don’t want to hear that I haven’t worn the previous shawl you gave me. I look at the beauty daily, as it has the place of honor over the chair in the living room as you well know. So it is MUCH loved, and as soon as it is fixed/shrunk/shortened, I WILL wear it. I would just look ridiculous (a 5′ 1″ old lady swathed in a 12 foot long woolen shawl in Southern California. It doesn’t even get that cold in the winter time!

Leave a Reply

