Some Merino, Some Baseball, and a Bobblehead

This past Monday was Stitch n Pitch 2008 at Dodger Stadium. I went the first year, back in 2006, but last year I was traveling between Los Angeles and Phoenix. And, of course, it was in Phoenix when I was in L.A. and in L.A. when I was in Phoenix.

I went with a couple of friends on a bus from my favorite LYS, and we had one hell of a time! Last time I went, I was on a bus through another LYS and, while fun, they had plans to leave at a certain time, so we missed the last 2 innings of the game. This time, we stayed to the Randy Newman end.

I got to visit with Laura, who was in town finalizing her wedding preparations, and I met Rainy face-to-face for the first time. It was nice to put a Real voice to her Commenting voice. LOL. And of course, there’s the usual crew from A Mano that was there. We got Goodie Bags from the store that included some chocolate, some older pattern books, and a skein of Malabrigo! Yum! AND I got a colorway I had been eyeing for a long, long time. It’s bright…it’s wild…and it’s totally me! And now it’s totally MINE! Especially since I picked up a second skein, so I can at least do a scarf. I also found some Malabrigo Lace Weight that might be PERFECT for Miriam Felton’s Icarus (Ravel it!) that I want to do. I’ll have to swatch it to see, but the colors are exactly what I was looking for. 

And as some of you may remember, I travel with my Nora Roberts Bobblehead, so you may see an appearance or two below. *grin*. Now for pictures (as always, click for big)…

Linda-with-an-I on the bus…

And Nora trying to hijack the bus!

(There was another picture I was going to post here of Rainy, but, well, she’ll thank me for refraining)

Knitters knitting in the wild…

Inexplicable (to Shannita) Knitter Behavior (She’s such a good sport)…

The 7th Inning Stretch…

*singing* Buy me some peanuts and Cracker Jacks…

(L-R) Lynda-with-a-Y, Linda-with-an-I, and Knitting Alyson (Not to be confused with Cousin Allison). Hey, in my world we need to be able to clarify!

Bobblehead Nora…

Shannita and Laura…

Simultaneous Blogging of Laura’s Sock…

Dodgers Win!!!

And then it was time to go home. And none too soon! We were all tired and VERY cold. By the time we left A Mano, drove back to where Linda and Alyson left their cars, and I stumbled home, it was nearly midnight and it wasn’t all that long until my alarm clock would go off. But it was worth it. I had a great time with good friends and lots of knitting time out in the fresh air.

Oh, and a Dodger Dog

Lynda the Guppy
aka the Fish With Sticks 

One response

  1. GOOD LUCK with Icarus! It’s a lot of stockinette and yarnovers until you get to the fun part, but there IS a fun part and the shawl is so pretty when you get it knit up.

    Erhm, I haven’t got to that part yet. See aforementioned miles of st st and y/o.

    It was so fun to meet you! Now I have a face to put with the blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

