Sign, Sign, Everywhere a Sign…

Sign Sign everywhere a sign
Blocking out the scenery breaking my mind
Do this, don’t do that, can’t you read the sign?

Signs are funny things. When drafting this post, I found I had a lot more Signs than I thought. Ready? Let’s go…

I saw this one at a Taco Bell near my favorite LYS. It’s the exclamation point that makes it for me.

This was on the road in Arizona. I was driving with my Aunt J and pulled right off the road to take this picture because it made me laugh…


This one stopped me in my tracks. This is the promo poster in the Los Angeles Public Library for their literacy program. I can’t QUITE figure out what they’re going for. If they’re trying to attract those that can’t read, well, then printing a sign with words won’t really work. And if you’re aiming for getting new volunteers to teach people to read, then if the people volunteering think this is okay, I think you have a bigger problem.

Here’s one for the Harry Potter fans here. It’s actually a shoe box in a store. It’s a Clean Sweep 7!

Mom at the Revlon Run/Walk in front of “Felix the Cat, Rat, Dog.” (Don’t ask. LOL) Thanks, Mom, for letting me post this one. LOL

A sign inside a McDonald’s drive-thru instructing the employees.

Gas prices here in Los Angeles. Granted, this is from a few weeks ago, but things haven’t really improved all that much…

This was from a booksigning in San Diego a few years ago. Meet the “Witers”?!?! And when I pointed this typo out to the woman in charge of booksignings for BN, she shrugged and informed me it was no big deal. “No one will notice.” Ummm…Ok. I’m sure a bunch of writers and a group of women who read and/or write wouldn’t POSSIBLY notice.


Lynda the Guppy
aka The Fish With Sticks
 

 

3 responses

  1. Love the Duck one! Although I get a mental picture of a cartoon truck doing just that…!

    And I can only hope that Sante Fe House isn’t a restaurant…! (Roadkill Stew, anyone?)

  2. LOLOL Thankfully, no. Santa Fe House was a shop for “Unique and Unusual gifts.” I can only assume it was for things like cattle skulls, hides, etc. I was too afraid to go in.

  3. Pingback: See the Signs? You See Them. (#7 of 30) | A Fish With Sticks

Leave a Reply

