Random Tuesday

I’m tired and at work WAAAAY too early, so today you get brain-fried random Tuesday. (It IS Tuesday, isn’t it?)

My mother is on Ravelry! LOL After years of having such different hobbies, it’s weird to share something like this. Although, she’s a crocheter and I’m a knitter, so still…different.

I owe you guys a bunch of pictures. I know! My camera has been working overtime at Chez Guppy. One of these days the stars will align and I’ll have everything I need to take pictures all in one spot. LOL.

Knitting update: I finished my Anthracite Shawl (pictures to follow shortly…I hope) and have started the Diamond Fantasy Shawl by Sivia Harding. I’m doing the scarf size in a skein of Soxie that I received as a “gift.” I love the pattern. I love the yarn WITH the pattern, but it is kicking. my. ass. I’ll knit like a demon for 2, 4, 6 rows…and then discover that 1, 3, 5 rows back I made an error and need to rip back. I just need to learn that I can’t knit this pattern while talking/tired/headache-y. Once I figure THAT out, I should be okay. I hope.

I’ve also joined the Ravelympics! I’m on both Team Browncoat and Team LaLa Land, and I’ll be competing in the Shawl Relay. I was at the Ventura County Fair on Saturday, and afterward we stopped at Anacapa for a little shopping. They recommended a pattern for a specific yarn that my friend was buying. And it turns out that it’s the same yarnI have one skein of that I’ve been TRYING to figure out what to use it for. This pattern will be beautiful with this yarn, and as it has a peace symbol worked into the yarnovers, it’s perfect for the Olympics and Olympic knitting. Doesn’t hurt that it’s a REALLY simple pattern. My challenge will be knitting on it enough that I actually finish.

I am both dreading and excited about the Beijing Olympics. I am worried for the health and safety of any protesters who try to make a statement about the human rights issues. And then on top of that, the games the Beijing/Chinese politicians are playing with the IOC and the journalists. They’ve broken promise after promise and the IOC doesn’t seem to care. Really, this close to the games is there really anything they CAN do? It’s not like the IOC can say at this late date “Fine. You’re not doing what you said? Then we’re not coming!” And I think the journalists are feeling the same way. The Chinese government said the press would have unlimited access to the internet, etc. and when they got there the government said “yeah, unlimited access to anything relating to the games. We never said unlimited access to EVERYthing.” So the press is having their internet access not only limited and restricted, but monitored as well.

On the flip side, I’m an Olympic Games slut. LOL Winter, summer, doesn’t matter. LOL I’ll watch as much as I can. That’s why the Ravelympics are great…built in knitting time! YAY!

My good pal Robyn got married a couple of weeks ago, and I was lucky enough to see her professional wedding photos. She was a beautiful, glowing bride and her husband is a handsome and lucky fellow! They both look so amazingly happy in every single picture.

I think that’s it…for now.

Lynda the Guppy
aka The Fish With Sticks

2 responses

  1. That is my issue w/ the Olympics. I always loved to watch it. But I am trying to make a statement about the human rights violations.

    Many years ago, Mom & I were in NYC. We saw these horrible pictures of people being tortured for practicing Falun Gong (or Data). (which I have done-just a type of meditation). We asked why? One word-Dictator. This was in China. šŸ˜¦ I will never forget those images I saw. I have no clue why the IOC let the games go there.

  2. Hey! My first mention in a blog!!!! Wheee!
    Haven’t started the Peace Shawl yet, ‘Y’, because size became the deciding factor when it came to fitting my knitting projects into my carry-on bag, and the Koigu won out. I’ll start it when I get home….
    Soon,
    ‘I’

Leave a Reply

