Casting Votes

I’ll probably be posting here several times today, so consider yourselves warned!

There’s a website called If The World Could Vote, and it is precisely that. Election results if the world were voting. As of 11:50 a.m., Pacific Standard Time, 212 countries have cast nearly 818,000 votes and Barack Obama has 87.2% of the votes. McCain has 12.8%. If you go to the Results page and scroll down it’ll break it down country by country with the amount of votes “cast” and how many for each candidate. Pretty interesting stuff.

When I showed up at the polling place closest to me, there was a line of about 60 people already, and the polls had been open for about 20 minutes. However, because I had a Vote by Mail ballot, I just needed to drop it in the slot, get my sticker, and leave. In and out in 5 minutes. Took me longer to find a parking spot. LOL.

BTW, In Los Angeles County, the Registrar has said that if you are STANDING IN LINE at 8:00 p.m. (when the polls close), they will still allow you to vote. The polling places will stay open until the last person in line casts their vote. However, if you show up at 8:02…well, tough luck. Should have planned better, eh?

So if you haven’t already, GO VOTE!!! There are a lot of issues on the ballot this time around that are very important and every vote counts!

Lynda the Guppy
AKA the Fish with Sticks

One response

  1. I took my crochet with me while I voted. Not one person asked me what I was making. I was relieved. I hate it when people do that. I was tempted to crochet Obama’s name into what I was making.

Leave a Reply

