A Birthday Yarn Extravaganza!

My friend Marilyn and I have made it a tradition to do a yarn crawl near my birthday in December. The first year we drove up the coast about 2 hours and visited every knitting store between here and there. Last year, we just did a mini-crawl, and went more locally to the yarn stores in Ventura County. This year, I decided it was time to head south. 

Along for the ride this year was Marilyn, me, my mom, and my friend Alyson. We got to Marilyn’s at 7:30 and headed south. Our first stop was Liscat. A charming, welcoming, and fun store. Definitely a favorite. The owner was very chatty and friendly, and so were the people sitting and knitting. The store had a ton of store samples scattered around and creatively placed, and there were some fun uses for stashbusting, such as the chair back covers. I wish I lived closer to this place, because I’d be there all. the. time. 

Yarn purchase:
Laceweight Ornaghi Filati Merino Oro in dark purple (
Ravel it!)
Fingering weight Aurora Yarns Acquerello (
Ravel it!

Next stop: Alamitos Bay Yarn Company.

While I do love their laceweight yarns, and their selections of both Lorna’s Laces Helen’s Lace and Fiddlesticks Knitting’s Zephyr is unrivaled here in SoCal, I find this store to be completely underwhelming. I’ve been in there exactly twice and the staff have either ignored me completely (when no one else was in the store) or made me feel like I’m interrupting brain surgery to ask a question about their inventory. Don’t get me wrong…they’ve never been rude or hostile, just…unwelcoming. Frankly, unless I’m going for something specific, I probably won’t make an effort to get back there.  But I still bought yarn. LOLOL.

Yarn Purchase:
Laceweight Lorna’s Laces Helen’s Lace in “Devon.” (
Ravel it!)
Noro Silk Garden Sock Yarn in “A” (
Ravel it!

Now for my favorite: The Yarn Lady

I have a sentimental attachment to The Yarn Lady. It’s such a HUGE store with really great yarns, tons of toys and tools, LOTS of bags, and the friendliest staff around. I’ve been there on Bag Sale days and even then we’re greeted with bright smiles, cheery faces, and get cookies and coffee delivered to us when we’re in line. LOL Even this time, when we left, we got hugs. LOLOL It’s a happy place. And here’s where I bought the most, and I think we spent the most time there. By then we were getting tired, so it was nice to sit in the back of the store at a huge table and just go through pattern books and rest for a bit.

Yarn Purchases:
Collinette Cadenza in Velvet Bilberry (
Ravel it!), Florentina (Ravel it!), Jay (Ravel it!), and Jewel (Ravel it!)
Noro Silk Garden Lite in 2013 (
Ravel it!)
I also picked up a couple clear plastic bags for small projects or tools, as well as a 4 more sets of Addi Lace needles in various sizes.  

And finally, an unexpected jewel. Strands and Stitches.  

This little store has one room in the front for knitting and a room in the back for needlepoint, and in between is the register. But aside from that, it’s remarkably well-stocked, and the two ladies that work there were VERY nice. In fact, we didn’t realize it until we got back in the car that we were there after closing. They didn’t mention it, and they never tried to hurry us along. And they had nearly as much fun trying to find yarns for us as we did! Great, great little shop.

Yarn Purchase:
Fiesta La Luz in Iolite (
Ravel it!)

By then it was after 5:00, so we wouldn’t have made it to The Sheared Sheep, so back to Costa Mesa to hit the Container Store and Barnes and Noble before we had dinner and then headed back. We got home at about 10:30, unloaded the car, did a bit of fondling, and fell face first into bed. 

It was a great Birthday Yarn Extravaganza!

Lynda the Guppy
aka The Fish With Sticks
 

Leave a Reply

