It’s a shame, really

My pal Rainy had a brilliant idea. A “Basket O’ Shame-along.” We list all our languishing unfinished objects and work on finishing them before the end of the year. I decided to take mine a bit further and include ALL my unfinished objects as of today.

After the Great Flood, and trying to get reconstruction started, etc., I’m really trying to buy less yarn. I’ve been fairly successful. I splurged on my birthday trip, but other than that, the only yarn I’ve bought has been for specific projects.

All project links will go to my Ravelry page, but here goes. And remember, it’s for posterity’s sake, so [I’ll] be honest.

Harry Potter Bookscarves.  I knit a number of these to give to my family and friends for when the last Harry Potter book came out. Yeah, that was July of 2007. I got only one or two finished. They’re all knit, I just need to seam them up and add the fringe. Now, part of the delay was that I, um, *cough* lost them. But the good news is they’re found, and I have them sitting here waiting patiently to be seamed. 

Next up: My most embarssing WIP. My “Christmas Shawl.” This was the second item I ever started knitting. I’ve been knitting since September of 2005, and that’s about when I started it. I still love it, and love the feel of it (Berocco Softwist and Crystal F/X held together), but I’ve never gotten the shape to work right. It’s a Berocco booklet pattern originally written for Suede, and I was too new a knitter to realize the difference in gauge would effect the shape so dramatically. I’m still not real happy with it, so I may rip it out and use it for something else. Or start a different shape. I have a ton of both yarns, as my friend Marilyn bought it for me as a present, knowing I was pretty broke at the time and that buying all that yarn would be slow going. LOL. 

And we continue our Shameful Journey with my Lady Eleanor. I started it back in 2006, and that October I decided to knit my mom’s Eleanor for Christmas, and I did it, (although not without a bit of drama. LOL) but I burned myself out on the pattern. I still love the pattern, and still want to knit it, but I’m starting to not like the colors. After working on mom’s which practically glows, mine seems cold and lifeless. And because I’m not sure what I want to do, I’ve done nothing. And for me that’s a sure sign that there’s something wrong with the project.

Now for the Booga Bag. This is one of those projects I have absolutely no excuse for not finishing. It’s been completely knit, including the 10 feet of i-cord. The only thing stopping it from being completely finished? I need to felt it. That’s it! *sigh* Shameful.

Here’s a baby sweater I started for someone. It’s absolutely adorable. It has these great stripes, this neat little color twist on the trim, wonderful colors, soft yarn. And I hate it.  Absolutely hate it. The yarn is a nylon/acrylic blend that feels wonderful, but there are a million ends to weave in, and because there’s no wool, those pesky little buggers won’t stay put, and I hate the way it looks. Not to mention, I don’t think it’ll hold up to an active baby. So I’ll finish it, and eventually do something with it, but I’ve cast on for different sweater using 220 Superwash, and I’m much happier. Too bad, really, because this is a charming sweater. 

And then there are the shawls…

Diamond Fantasy Shawl. Loving this, but it’s slow going, as I need to really pay attention so I don’t screw it up.

Mystery Stole 4. I think I’m going to rip this out. I love the bottom of this shawl, but don’t like the rest of the pattern. 

Icarus. I love this shawl and have been working on it pretty regularly. It’s on a brief hiatus until I can get the second ball of yarn wound.

And now for the Parade of Scarves…

The Ruffled Edges scarf

The Lacy Rib Scarf…

The Short-Row Rib Scarf…

The Swirl Scarf…

And I think that’s it. At least, I HOPE that’s it, because it’s an awful lot of unfinished objects. 

Wish me luck.

Lynda the Guppy
aka The Fish With Sticks 

3 responses

  1. YOU might not like the colors of your Lady Eleanor, but I LOVE it! No, it isn’t the same as my glowing Lady, but has a subtle beauty that would just look FABULOUS with all my business outfits, coats, etc, and would come in OH SO HANDY when I am traveling……

  2. The Booga bag could EASILY be felted and finished, with no work on your part by just leaving it on your bed… the princess would be happy to knead it into submission with her paws o’ death, and like my beloved Tavi colored shawl, it will soon be lumpy, bumpy and on it’s way to felted splendor!

Leave a Reply

