F is for…

…Fundraising and Fun Prizes.


My mother is a big shot muckety-muck in the world of cancer research. She’s an RN and an Administrator, so she works at a major university, and she’s the one in charge making sure trials around the world are getting done, and getting done correctly. Because of that, and because of the fact that both my great aunt and grandmother had breast cancer, our family is a big supporter of the Revlon Run/Walk for Women. There’s one in Los Angeles and one in New York every year, and it’s a worthy cause.


Since it was created in 1993, the Revlon Run/Walk for Women has distributed nearly $55 Million Dollars to cancer research, counseling, as well as outreach programs.


Once again, I’ll be volunteering, as my knees won’t let me walk, but most of my family will be there, and it’s an amazing, incredible event.  Last year I was at the finish lines and there were some amazing moments.

There was a little girl who was pushed the whole way to the stadium in a wheelchair…and then was helped by her mother to walk to the finish line without it.

There were women, men, kids with signs saying they walked for family, friends, etc. who had fought and survived…and wonderful people who walked for those who had fought and lost the battle.

There was a group of three women…one was a sister, one was a daughter, and one was a niece walking for their sister/mother/aunt who had lost her battle against cancer the day before.

There was a women who came through my lane who looked like every single step was a struggle. She was exhausted and still she looked at me, sighed with relief, gave me the biggest smile I’d ever seen and said “I made it.” She was a survivor of two months.

The Revlon Run/Walk is always such an emotional day for me. It’s the most amazing, powerful, heartbreaking, and inspiring event. You cannot comprehend the immense feeling of pride to be a human being that day. And as a volunteer, it feels so wonderful to help support all these amazing women and their families. I spent most of the day laughing through my tears, and I’m doing it all again on Saturday, May 9 here in Los Angeles.

So here’s the carrot…I’m hoping to raise money for this cause. These people do good work, important work, life-saving, life-changing work, and they deserve every penny. I know times are hard for everyone, but every little bit helps. If you go to MY FUNDRAISING PAGE and donate, I’ll put your name in the hat for a drawing for two prizes. Be sure to use my fundraising page. I’m Bib #60514, Team 105. Remember, you can donate securely online, or you can mail in a check (be sure to put my bib number on your check) and ALL DONATIONS ARE TAX DEDUCTIBLE!!!

The first…a signed copy of Lisa Scottoline’s newest book “Look Again.”

The second prize…a tote bag with the cover of Look Again on it, and if you’re a knitter, there will be some treats inside.

So please…DONATE!!!! The amount does not matter. You can donate $1 or $100 and I will be THRILLED.  And if you’re in Los Angeles and want to come walk, stop by the registration area and say HI!!!

Lynda the Fundraising Guppy
Aka the Fish With Sticks

Leave a Reply

