Day 6: Boy…

IMG_2383

A friend of the family was having a baby, and I thought perfect! I’ll make a little boy sweater. I love making baby stuff, because it lets me make sweaters and feel like a fancy pants knitter without making my-sized sweaters, which would take considerably longer.

My knitting teacher, The Fabulous Anita (she teaches at Pearl’s), pointed me towards a baby sweater pattern that’s her go-to pattern. It knits up quick, in worsted weight yarn, and you can make a ton of modifications to it.

IMG_2395

Since it was for a little boy, I decided to do it in Garter stitch. And I found these great little buttons at JoAnn’s, of all places. And of course I bought extra to have on hand. Never know when you’ll have a Button Emergency!

Well, I love this pattern. It is now MY go-to baby sweater pattern. It’s fast, simple, and it’s knit in one piece. And by changing somethings as simple as the yarn and the stitch, you can make it look COMPLETELY different. (RAVEL it!)

IMG_2399

Unfortunately, I was too slow gifting this, and the baby boy outgrew it before he ever got it, so it ended up going to someone else who will love it. And really that’s what matters, right?

Tomorrow I’ll show you the “girl” version.

Lynda the Guppy
aka The Fish With Sticks

Leave a Reply

