Superstar

My Knitting Group meets weekly at the local Borders. We LOVE our Borders. The staff there is top notch and always really friendly, and they support us like nobody’s business. We know them and they know us on a personal level, and not just as “Those crazy knitters.” They set up a special table for us every week, and chase off people who try to use it before we get there. And after the horrible experience we had for over a year at That Other Store, Borders is like hanging out at a girlfriend’s house. But with coffee and baked goods.

One day about a month ago the manager Paul came out of the office to talk to us and seemed pretty excited. After seeing us week after week and watching us buy books and magazines, not to mention food and drinks from the cafe each week, he was eager to try to reach out to the knitting community. So when he found out Debbie Stoller was touring, he managed to get a signing set up!

Last Monday, Alyson, Wendy and I went to the book signing with Debbie Stoller and had a blast. You should have seen her face when Paul introduced her as one of the foremost knitters in the U.S., if not the world. LOL It was a “Wait, ME? He’s talking about ME?!” LOL

For her talk she basically recapped the intro to her book Stitch ‘n Bitch Superstar Knitting: Go Beyond the Basics.

Then she brought out a bunch of knitted items from her Book, and she talked about the different ways each item was made and how she talks about them in the book.

There was Tiger Lily, and Steeks And Stones and The Life Aquatic. My favorites, though, were In Bloom and Beatrice Gloves.  The flowers on In Bloom practically GLOW against the brown of the bag, and the purple of the Beatrice Gloves is my favorite shade of purple.

After Alyson managed to cut my head out of the first picture, Debbie was gracious enough to continue posing for a second picture.

When I got home I read her book. And it Rocked. My. World. Seriously. In the book she carefully explains how to cable without a cable needle. And OMG. It’s BRILLIANT. Now, I don’t know if this is a common technique or one that’s innovative and new, but either way…As God is my witness, I’ll never need a cable needle again. In fact, I immediately cast on for the Brea Bag (Ravel it!) and it was SOOOOO EASY!!!!! In fact it was so easy that I had no qualms about using it on my lace shawl I’m currently knitting (Ravel it!).

That’s it for now. I’ll be back in a few days to tell you the Adventures of the Bitchin’ Brea Bag.

Lynda the Guppy
aka The Fish With Sticks

 

4 responses

Leave a Reply

