My First Love

My first love was a love of books. I’ve always been a big reader from the time I was little. I remember the very first Nancy Drew book I read (Clue of the Leaning Chimney) and where I was when I read it. It was a treat because mom and I were going to our first appointment at a new doctor’s office, and we had heard the wait could be long. It was. Good thing I had my book.  And yes, I still have all my Nancy Drew books.

Now I have a Kindle. And this has changed my book buying quite a bit. I’m currently living in a place that is not mine, and storage is at a real premium. So instead of purchasing the book, finding a place to put it until I read it, and then having to go hunt for it when I need it, I just download to my Kindle. I. Love. It. I’m purchasing more books these days, and I’m absolutely reading more books than before. And now I don’t have to worry about The Leaning Tower of Novels on my bedside table toppling over in the middle of the night and knocking me unconscious. LOL.

Last year I kept track of what books I read during most of the year using the Goodreads app. I started in March, I think, so it wasn’t really accurate. This year, I’m already in the habit. And since I know some of you who read this blog also read romance, as I do, I thought I’d put out there what I’ve read each month. Here goes.

January Totals:

Audio books: 3

Sun Kissed by Catherine Anderson (Book 7 in the Kendrick/Coulter/Harrigan series)

Morning Light by Catherine Anderson (Book 8 in the Kendrick/Coulter/Harrigan series)

Dream Man by Linda Howard. One of my all-time favorite books. LOVE Dane.

Kindle/Physical Books: 17

Here Comes The Groom by Karina Bliss. Thanks to Sarah of Smart Bitches, I discovered Karina Bliss. And so far I’ve loved everything I’ve read. ESPECIALLY this one. And thanks to my Kindle, I was able to download all of her available backlist on New Year’s day. Love that. LOL. Speaking of…

Next up was Mr. Imperfect, Mr. Irresistible, Mr. Unforgettable, and Second-Chance Family which are a trilogy and a related book, and then Like Father, Like Son which is a stand-alone. And all by Karina Bliss.

My next new-to-me discovery was ALSO courtesy of Sarah at Smart Bitches, and that’s Shannon Stacey’s Exclusively Yours and Undeniably Yours. Both of these are about the Kowalski family. I think I liked the first one better, because there was more interaction with the Kowalskis. Undeniably Yours focused more on the couple. They were both good, and I enjoyed them both, but it was nice to see more of the family.

I’ve read Jaci Burton’s All She Wants For Christmas.  I’m SUCH a sucker for holiday short stories. LOL Any holiday, really. Christmas, Valentine’s Day, New Year’s, etc. I’m also a sucker for going home type stories, and this one satisfied me on both counts.

I also read Maureen Child’s Baby Bonanza. I wanted something that was the reading equivalent of cotton candy, and that’s exactly what I got, so consider me satisfied. It was total escapist fluff, and as that’s what I was looking for, I have no complaints. Plus it was one of the Kindle Freebies, so bonus!

And finally I’m currently working my way once again through Robyn Carr’s Virgin River series. So far I’ve read Virgin River, Shelter Mountain, Whispering Rock, A Virgin River Christmas, Second Chance Pass, Temptation Ridge, and Paradise Valley. I’m hoping to drag these out until the last of the new trilogy comes out next month. We’ll see how that goes. LOL One of the things I love about this series is that she doesn’t just write one couple, and then in the next book move on, and we don’t really see the previous couple. She really has set these books up as if you were visiting a community. Other couples, even those who have had their own books, tend to play major roles in several books. And I LOVE the Town Christmas Tree.

So that’s it. That’s what I’ve read this month. What have you read?

Signed,
Lynda the Guppy
aka A Bookaholic
aka The Fish With Sticks

Leave a Reply

