A First Kiss

A Peanut Butter Heart

Valentine’s day has always been hit or miss with me. I usually take the opportunity to tell those closest to me how much they mean to me. One of my dear friends is a guy I used to date and he always gave me roses. In fact, my first flowers from A Guy were from him. My mom and I had gone to the theater on Valentine’s day and he dropped off a dozen red roses for me with my dad. Brave guy. LOL. But then that impressed my dad and he’s liked James ever since. LOL

The Day BEFORE Valentine’s day has been significant twice in my life. Strangely enough, they were both Fridays.

The most recent was last year. There was an Event of Life Changing Consequences that happened last February 13. I won’t go into details here, but it has been a long road. And thankfully a longer one than we had thought at the outset of this “adventure.”

An Elevator Heart

But the Friday, February 13 that stands out to me most was when I received my first Valentine’s day Kiss. I was about 10 years old and my dad was working late on The Incredible Hulk. My mom was working nights as a nurse, and so she dropped me off at the set to stay with dad until he was done. They were using a closed psychiatric hospital somewhere, and we walked over to where they were filming. I remember the stunt  guys were doing wheelchair races down the hall. LOLOL.

While we were there, Bill Bixby walked over and introduced himself. I was so incredibly, painfully shy, and I’m not sure I said anything. I do remember I practically hid behind my dad. LOL. So there we were. My dad trying to coax me into saying 2 words, and Bill trying to charm me into the same. I was having none of it.

Bill turns to walk away, snaps his fingers and says “Oh, I almost forgot.” He leans down, kisses me on the cheek and says “Happy Valentine’s Day.”

I fell in love at that moment and I remember crying a few tears many years later when I heard he died. It was my first Valentine’s Day Kiss, and a moment I’ll remember forever.

A Noro Heart

So while people may say Friday the 13 is bad luck, I don’t believe it. Other months’ Friday the 13s have all been inconsequential. But my February Friday the 13s have been amazing. Sure, 2010’s was Bad News, but it could have been so much worse. In fact, it originally WAS so much worse. And things are better now than they were then, and much better than they could be.

And February 13, 1981 I got my “first kiss” so to speak, and fell in love for the first time. Not too bad.

Happy Valentine’s Day.
Love,
Lynda the Guppy
aka The Romantic Fool
aka The Fish With Sticks

Leave a Reply

