Won’t Do That Again

I went out of town on a family trip on Friday, and, despite having had only 3 hours of sleep total spread over the previous 36 hours, I took my knitting out of my bag that night at the hotel. My BEADED LACE SHAWL that I had spent the last month knitting. The one that is my favorite piece of lace so far. And even KNOWING not to knit lace when tired. And KNOWING I probably wasn’t going to knit it that night. And KNOWING better than to PUT IT ON THE BED, I did it anyway.

I took it out.

I put it on the bed.

I went to sleep.

I forgot about it.

I got up the next morning.

I packed.

and I checked out of the hotel.

Now, when I say I know better, I’m not kidding. A little over three years ago my mom was hand-appliqueing a garment for a show for our friend Rachel Clark. Mom had it in a cream colored cloth bag, and when we got some tragic news, she missed the bag when we were throwing things in suitcases to race home, and it got left behind. The housekeeping staff also didn’t see it when they grabbed the sheets. Unfortunately, it was over a week before my mom noticed it was gone, and by then it was GONE Gone. Never to be found again, even though the hotel and staff diligently searched. Ever since then, we’ve both been SUPER careful about taking things to bed in a hotel room. And when I got up at 5:00 am on Saturday morning, and took out my Kindle, I thought about mom’s garment. I know how upset she was and how she’s never had the heart to try and recreate it. So I really DO know better.

After breakfast, we drove around town for a while before we actually hit the road. When we pulled off the road to take a quick picture before hitting the town limits, I decided to hop out and get my knitting, since it was going to be a long drive to the next town.

OMG. It’s not there. I’m sure my mother saw the panic in my eyes when I turned to her and said “My Little Mermaid…it’s not here!!!” Panic. Took everything out of the knitting bag. Took everything out of my purse. Rifled through my suitcase. Not here. Not here! NOT HERE!!!!

We turn around and head back to town. I call the hotel right away, and they check with housekeeping. Anna, the head of housekeeping looks around, but doesn’t see it. I ask if I can come and check myself. Absolutely! My uncle stops for gas, and my mom, aunt and I hop out and start systematically searching the van and luggage. If I can find it, we won’t have to go all the way back.

Front seat? No.

Knitting bag? No.

Purse? No.

My suitcase? Mom’s suitcase? No and No.

The back of the van? Backseat of the van? Under the seats?

No. No. No.

Still panicking, we head over to the hotel. Anna comes downstairs and meets me and mom and takes us back up to our room to search. We walk in and Serena is in the middle of cleaning the room. Anna asks her if she found anything in the room?

Oh, yeah, she says. A little drawstring bag with some knitting in it? And a pouch with charts? Yeah, it was in the bed. I tagged it and took it downstairs. It should be sitting on Anna’s desk.

I cannot possibly tell you how relieved I was. I was practically giddy with it. Aside from the cost of the yarn and beads, it is a gorgeous piece of knitting and the time and emotional investment I already had in the piece was not inconsequential.

So I’m THRILLED to have it back in my possession, and a letter to the management of the hotel about the wonderful staff will be written.

And, Greg, if this was you? NOT. FUNNY.

Okay, a little funny.

But not yesterday.

Signed,
Lynda the Guppy
Aka The Fish With Sticks
Aka The Guppy Who Learned Her Lesson 

3 responses

  1. I’m so glad you got it back! I’d probably have burst into tears and then cursed at someone until I made them cry (my usual reaction to heartbreaking loss).

Leave a Reply

