She Suspects a Conspiracy

First a little backstory. My cat has to take medicine twice a day at mealtimes every day. The only way mom and I can keep it straight is with a note in the bathroom. One side says “Fed & Pilled”; one side says “Fed & NOT Pilled”. If there’s no note, neither of us fed or pilled her. You can see where this is going, right?

This particular morning I left at 7:00 a.m. never having seen Rani, so no note was put up in the bathroom. It’s now 5:03 p.m. and A Strange Man has made noise in the house, scared off the cat, and left.

Mom: Rani! Come on! Let’s eat!

Me: Let’s eat?! It’s too early for her to eat. What are you talking about?

Mom: She’s been bugging me for food for a while, and there’s no food in her dish.

Me: Really? What time did you feed her this morning?

Mom: I didn’t feed her. You fed her.

Me: No, I didn’t. I didn’t see her.

Mom: The note was up! I saw it!

Me: Nope. Made sure it was down this morning, because I never saw her.

Mom: ….

Me: …

Both: We didn’t feed her today?!

Poor kitty. No wonder she’s so hungry. Also explains why she was all over me this afternoon when I came home. It wasn’t love. It was FEED ME NOW!!!! She’s always suspected we don’t love her. Now she knows the truth. We are apparently trying to starve her. 

Signed,
Lynda the Guppy
aka Fish With Sticks
aka The One Who Is Meaner Than Any Other (according to Rani) 

3 responses

  1. Whoa, not so fast. Who put up the note your mom saw? And who was “A Strange Man”? (And who was in the parlor with a candlestick?)

    There’s more to this story than you are letting on….

    (The plot thickens!)

Leave a Reply

