Pretend It’s Yesterday (#3 of 30)

Day 3 and I’m already behind. But I’m going to post two posts today, and there might be a little backdating, so we’ll say I’m all caught up. Okay? Okay. 

When last we left our Knitterly Adventures I was headed to Vogue Knitting Live. I know a lot of people had a ton of fun there, and really, I did, too, but I felt there were a LOT of problems with the event, and I know I would never volunteer again for either Vogue or the event company running it. And that’s all I’m going to say here. Right now, I’m going to focus on the fun I had that day…

My fellow Yarnivores Alyson and Wendy also volunteered, so on Saturday we all trekked down to Century City and found our posts. I was at the the table right as you walked into the marketplace. I loved that spot. I could sit and people watch all day. In fact, even though I took knitting, I only knit a few rows before I was back to people watching.

They had all sorts of cool displays around the marketplace. Like this “creature.”

Fancy some “knitted” glass?

Are you a Zombie? How about some Braaaaains…

My table was right by this GORGEOUS machine-knit dress. Really spectacular. You would be AMAZED how many people leaned OVER the velvet ropes and reached PAST the “DO NOT TOUCH!” signs to TOUCH. THE. DRESS. *sigh* There was a lot of “Please don’t touch!” heard at my table. You would also be amazed at how many people got cranky about hearing it.

“It’s okay. I’m a knitter.” Yes, but you’re not the knitter who knit the dress, so please don’t touch.

“It’s at a knitting convention. It’s SUPPOSED to be touched.” Not according to the TWO SIGNS you’re standing in front of. Please don’t touch.

“But it’s only machine knit. It’s not like it’s HAND knit.” It’s an art piece. Please don’t touch.

“If I’m not supposed to touch, then you really should put up signs or something.” Ma’am. Take one step back, and then look down. See the sign you were pressed against? The one that says “Please do not touch”? That would be the one we placed to make sure people Did. Not. Touch. So please…do not touch.

Still, the dress WAS gorgeous. 

And finally, the best part of the day? I got to meet Franklin Habit! I went to his seminar about historical knitting patterns and had a blast. I learned a lot about them, and now I want to find some and knit them. LOL. Crazy, I know, but I’m just that kind of crazy knitter. He was charming and gracious and VERY funny. Sadly, he didn’t bring Harry. Happily, he also didn’t bring Dolores. Can you imagine the havoc?! Oh, and what you don’t see is how dashing he looks in his kilt. 

So problems with the event aside, I had a ton of fun and met up with old friends I hadn’t seen in a while, and made new friends I hope to see again. I saw lots of pretty yarns and picked up some wonderful glass stitch markers and some very pretty Koigu for a project I’m collecting yarn for. All in all, a good time was had.

Knit on!
Lynda the Guppy
aka Fish With Sticks 

One response

Leave a Reply

