A Very Harlot Adventure (again) (#6 of 30)

Way back in 2007 the Yarn Harlot came for a visit. Years later in 2010 my knitting group The Yarnivores were sitting around talking about her and her last visit when it came out that three of us had been “Harlotted“! Robin, Wendy and I are all on there. Robin is the first of the First Sock Knitters, mine had some gauge problems, and Wendy was Hat Lady #2.

At the time, I barely knew Wendy. I had been going to “our” group for only a little while and because I kept confusing her with someone else, I couldn’t remember her name that day. Still feel guilty about that. LOL

Robin didn’t come to the Yarnivores until 2010. It cracks me up looking at Robin’s picture from back then. She had long blonde hair. It’s now in a short bob and hot pink! VERY! HOT! PINK! Looks great on her, but since I’ve never known her with long hair, so the blonde looks fake. LOL.

This year, Wendy went with us, as did Linda-With-An-I and Alyson (known as Knitting Alyson, not to be confused with Cousin Allison). Two friends from another knitting group, Barbra and Heather, met up with us and we all sat together. Thankfully we got there early! Barbra got there about 3:45 and most of the seats that were out were already taken, so she snagged what she could, and then when I got there at 4:00 they were putting more chairs out, so we grabbed a couple more. There were A LOT of people there.

This time we were “Harlotted” as a group (Alyson, Heather, Barbra, and I are in the front row with Linda and Wendy peeking out on either side of me from the second row) and Linda got singled out, as she brought her “third first sock.” Stephanie debated if she was going to get invested in the Third First Sock adventure, but Linda promised this time she’d finish. I reminded Linda that if she DIDN’T finish there would probably be some public mocking. So I’ll keep you posted. 

Here are a few pictures. First up, The Sweater. The Sweater that Caught on Fire. LOL Probably the most blogged sweater in all the land…

Here a better picture. She’s reading us bits from the book. And let me just say that at one point I was laughing so hard I couldn’t hold the camera steady. Barbra and I were both in tears from laughing, and we’re TOTALLY going to steal some of her responses to Silly Muggle Questions (see the chapter titled “Personal Filters”).

Finally, here I am with Stephanie. Even blurred, it’s still a much better picture than the one from last time. LOL.

I’m wearing my Aestlight Shawl over one shoulder. I got a LOT of comments on my shawl, and there was a woman there who had knit it in a single variegated yarn, and it looked TOTALLY different. I got the idea for the two-tones from Laura’s Aestlight, so I went looking for other 2-color Aestlights and found a way to do it that made the most of the leftover yarns I was using. 

After The Yarn Harlot, we all went out for some really excellent Indian food, and then stumbled home. 

Lynda the Guppy
aka Fish With Sticks
aka Twice Harlotted 

6 responses

  1. I’m not a shawl girl, but that one is just lovely. I’m patiently (or impatiently) waiting for the new book to come to me through the library; I can’t wait to read it.

    • Thanks. It was a REALLY fast knit. I was project monogamous on that one, and it took me about 2 weeks. VERY simple. The worst part (for me) is always a knitted on border. I love them, because they’re so pretty, but they take so long to do!

Leave a Reply

