A Bookish Adventure, Part 1 (#10 of 30)

Waaaaay back in March, I found out that the Romantic Times Booklover’s Convention was going to be here in Los Angeles. I wasn’t planning on going, until I found out that my good pal Katie was attending. Since she lives in Iowa (for a few more weeks at least. LOL) we try to take whatever opportunity we get to get together for a visit.

I’m SOOO glad I went. I met a bunch of authors whom I have been speaking to on Twitter, not to mention I collected yet another Librarian pal, Shayera. LOL I seem to have a lot of those. I met Katie and Shayera the day before the big signing, and we went to this “un-conference” that was fascinating, and it was followed by a cocktail party across the street, and afterword the three of us went up to Katie’s room where we proceeded to talk books for way too long before Shayera and I left. The next day, we again met up with Katie and proceeded to perform a military strike on the book signing!

So. Much. Fun. Oh, and be sure to click on the pictures. Hee!

*tap tap tap* “Pardon me. May I take a picture of your leg?” Me, to Carina Press Executive Editor Angela James.

Here I am with Bella Andre.

…And here I am with KB Alan who was nice enough to spend some time chatting with me while I was waiting for Bella…

…Did you know Jami Alden and Bella Andre are best friends? Here I am with Jami…

Cherry Adair was a hoot! Really funny lady. Got a little too friendly, though. LOL…

HelenKay Dimon whom I’ve been chatting with pretty regularly on Twitter. Since she’s fairly local, I may head down to meet her at a San Diego RWA event one of these days…

Robyn Carr. I LOVE her Virgin River books. I was so pleased to be able to meet her and let her know how very much I loved the first book in the series, especially. There’s a scene between Jack and Mel which was so well done, and I cry buckets whenever I read it…

And finally (for this post, anyway) Sarah Wendell. Visiting with Katie aside, she’s one of the reasons I went. I read her site Smart Bitches, Trashy Books all the time and find her to be smart, witty, and clever. With her first book (co-written with Candy Tan) and her second, she’s done a lot to try to change the way people view romance novels. I did lie to her, though. I told her that her book was the only one I was going to buy. I lied. I ended up buying one other book. More on that in a few days…

That’s it for tonight. I’ll wrap up my Romantic Times adventures in a few days.

Lynda the Guppy
aka Fish With Sticks
aka A Bookish Fish

3 responses

    • LOL I was getting LOOKS and I had to explain that Flounder was my avatar for just about everything online, so how else was anyone going to recognize me? LOL They were all good sports, though some got more into it than others. I love the picture of Sarah. I’ll have another post wrapping it up tomorrow.

  1. Pingback: A Bookish Adventure, Part 2 (#12 of 30) | A Fish With Sticks

Leave a Reply

