A Pretty Thing for Diane (#16 of 30)

Waaaaay back in December (can’t believe it’s been a year already) I posted a list of knitting goals. Now, I’m not here to talk about which ones are finished and which aren’t. That’s for another day. Today, I’d like to revisit my friend Diane’s comments on Facebook:

you forgot to add ‘make something glorious for my very good friend Diane’ to the list… I’m sure it was just an oversight tho.

…And my response:

Lol so I did!

After some discussion about fibers, colors, etc., I puzzled and puzzed till my puzzler was sore (too early?) and I searched and searched for the perfect yarn. It had to be non-wool, as she was inconsiderate enough to be allergic to it. Really, I think I need to consider new friends. Way too many of the current ones are allergic. Right. Diane. Sorry. So I looked around at different yarns, and discovered Lorna’s Laces Honor yarn in a beautiful blue. Snagged the last skein, too!

I originally had tried a different pattern, but even though I am an experienced lace knitter, and even though I consider myself to be fairly “advanced,” I could NOT get more than a few rows in before I had to keep ripping back. I have a theory about that. If I’m fighting it THAT much, something’s not working. Wrong needles, wrong pattern, wrong yarn, something. So I let the universe have its way and went RavSurfing for a new pattern.

My friend Alyson actually picked out this pattern. She was knitting 2 of them at the same time, and I took a look and agreed it was the perfect thing. A bit lacy, but not delicate. Large sections of stockinette, so it would be a pretty fast knit, and adjustable as to the size, so I could make sure to use up every last bit of yarn (and boy, did I!).

Well, I finished in April, I believe. Took me until a few weeks ago before I had the time and floor space to give it a good blocking. After sitting around for a few weeks after THAT, I finally sent it off to Diane nearly a year after we first spoke about me knitting something for her. At this point she just knew I had knit something, not what it was. 

Of course, I sent it to the wrong zip code. *sigh*

I have to say that the USPS really stepped up on this. I called right away as soon as I realized it was going to come back to me as undeliverable. They told me if they were able to get in touch with the PO where it currently was, they’d be able to get it redirected to the correct zip. Unfortunately, it was Saturday and the local PO had closed an hour before. I told the USPS customer service that it was okay, and I’d just wait for it to come back and I’d ship it out again. Thanks for trying.

I get a text today from Diane. The package arrived. Apparently the USPS customer service person managed to get in touch with local PO after all and got the package redirected. Well done, USPS. Thank you.

Diane loves it, as I was sure she would. I’ll talk to her tomorrow, but in the meantime, now that she’s received her gift, I can finally share pictures of The Soft Thing for Diane. It’s a shawl, but, really, it could be used as a shawl, a scarf, a babushka, a chair cover, really whatever floats your boat.

And here’s the full shawl. It really turned out beautiful.

So to Diane, whom I hope has many, many more years to use and love this shawl. And know that if it ever needs reblocking, send it back. I promise it won’t take a year next time.

Love ya,

Lynda the Guppy
aka Fish With Sticks
aka Knitting Ninja 

7 responses

  1. Diane, you will love the shawl. Lynda made me one and gave it to me for our trip to Vermont. I wore it all the time because I was always cold, and it really did feel like a warm soft hug, in addition to being beautiful.

    Nancy, Lynda’s Mom

    • Oh, Kiersten. This was SUCH an easy pattern. It looks pretty and complicated, but really, it’s VERY simple. In fact, I taught the pattern to a friend of mine (A Kristin, funny enough) who had only been knitting a few months. She caught on very quickly.

  2. I’ve already been wearing my gorgeous soft thing… I have a bunch of arthritis and injury in my neck, and learned a long time ago that if I keep my neck warm, the rest of me works better. This is just perfect for keeping the back of my neck warm!

    Isn’t Lynda full of awesome and win?! I’m going to have to think of something fun to do for her. A monster hat just won’t cut it. :oP

    This is much better than cheesecake. (that’s a location joke… you had to be there)

    Diane
    who LOOOOOOVES my lacy shawl!

Leave a Reply

