Read-A-Thon: Hour 6

11:09 a.m. (6+ hrs in) It’s Read-A-Thon day! Don’t know what I’m talking about? Check my last post for more info. And no, I’m not crazy, and yes, I can count. Because of the time differences, each time zone starts at midnight Read-A-Thon time, not our local time zone time. This actually works to my advantage, as I’m a total night owl.

I’m not really competing as I know a lot of the participants are. Instead I’m using it as an excuse to clear out some of my TBR pile, and kickstart my reading again. I’ve been in a bit of a slump. 

Since I woke up this morning I’ve read a whopping….one….book. LOL Diana Palmer’s Wyoming Tough. I know. I know. Diana Palmer. What can I say? She’s my total guilty pleasure. I know how formulaic they are, and I know they’re total throwbacks to the old Harlequin/Silhouette style, but I love ’em. They’re like the cotton candy of books. They look good in theory, but once you get your hands into that sticky mess it’s hard to stop, and then after you’re done you wonder what they heck you were thinking. Still…I enjoy them.

This book actually surprised me. While it had the typical Diana Palmer standards (virgin heroine, asshole hero, false accusations, not NEARLY enough hero grovel), it seemed more updated than her usual fare. At least this time the heroine wasn’t 18. She also wasn’t the docile innocent her heroines tend to be. This one was strong, self-sufficient, and had been raised by her outspoken mother and fierce father to stand up for herself and take crap from no one. Which is exactly what she did. The hero, for his part, wasn’t quite as much of a jerk as her heroes normally are, which was a bit of a relief. I also saw hints of books to come. I hope Darryl finds someone to tango with. I liked him a lot.

I “competed” in one of the Mini-Challenges. This one was hosted by Reflections of a Bookaholic. This challenge said to turn to page 32 in the book I’m currently reading and pick the most entertaining phrase to complete the line “I would rather read than ________ any day!” Sadly, my best choice was “I would rather read than call me Tank any day!” Someone else entered with something from Jenny Lawson’s book, and, really, how can you compete with frozen snakes? 

Now…off to check out what’s next on the TBR list. Maybe the next one will be a review book. Hmm…

Oh, and I’ll be updating regularly, so don’t think you’re losing your mind. LOL

Read on!

Lynda the Guppy
aka The Reading Machine 

3 responses

  1. There is so right or wrong way to do the read-a-thon. Just enjoy it! I am routinely outread by my husband and best friend but I still enjoy it.

    Team Polonius

  2. Thanks, Bookworm & Jenn! Turns out I only read this one book. Sad, as I’ve been known to read more than that on a lazy weekend day. LOL However, I chose to spend valuable reading time with friends instead, so there was a tradeoff, but a good one, IMNSVHO. LOL.

Leave a Reply

