Alaska Day 2: A Day At Sea

My entire family (me, mom, 2 aunts, 2 uncles, and 1 cousin) all took a cruise recently to Alaska. Now that we are home and have a stable internet connection, here are long travelogues from the trip, complete with pictures.

~Lynda

Today is our first full day on the ship, and it’s a day at sea. We don’t get to Juneau until tomorrow, I believe, but I’d have to check…and right now I’m nice and cozy sitting on the bed. LOL. 

Mom and I got up early and had croissants in our room, and just slowly took our time getting ready. No rush, and, in fact, I actually went back to sleep for another half hour. LOL. We finally got a call from Uncle J and Aunt K that they were heading up to breakfast. Uncle Dr J had already left to go take photos, although, with the weather, there really wasn’t much outside to take pictures of. Aunt J was reading, but said she’d go up with Mom and me. A family breakfast it is!

Uncle Dr J took a break from taking photos to join us, and after breakfast we all wandered around the ship a bit. Got to see the tail end, and went up into the Skywalkers club to see the views from the highest public point on the ship. Beautiful. Would have been spectacular if we had seen any sun.

We found our embarkation photo. Well, sort of. Mom and I went in a different way separate from everyone, so they didn’t take our picture. I bought one of the group of Uncle J, Aunt K, Cousin A, Aunt J and Uncle Dr J. Between them they’re holding a 24-pack of Bud Light and 6 bottles of wine. We won’t talk about what’s in the “water” bottle. *grin* Let’s just agree that everyone knows it’s not really water. We also saw the photos the photographer took at dinner last night. Mom’s wasn’t very good, and Uncle J looks like he should be twirling his moustache talking about the dastardly deeds he’ll be doing later. Aunt K’s picture was beautiful, but she photographs well anyway. I picked up my picture, because it wasn’t too bad. Mom really loves it. I wish I had the time to remove my glasses.

We wandered in and out of some of the shops, and it ended with everyone going their separate ways. Cousin A went with me to one of the bar areas and I FINALLY got my first drink! The Ultimate Mai Tai. Now, I’m not big on mai tais in general, but this one is AMAZING. Too bad the server tried to kill me with nuts. LOL

We’ve made reservations to go back to the Crown Grill on the night we’re in Victoria. I’m already planning my meal. LOL And wondering if I can get 2 S’mores desserts. *grin* I bet I could.

I’m doing TONS of walking on this cruise. I’m trying to not say no to something just because I’d have to walk there. Although, I AM tired of being hot and sweaty. LOL. Later this afternoon is Bingo, then back to the room to get dressed for Formal Night. We’re taking pictures. I’ve insisted. 

****************

L-Y-N-D-A and BINGO was her name OH!

Yup. That’s right. I won Bingo. $200, baybeeeee! My cousin won $400, so YAY for Team FishWithSticks! My Uncle J and Aunt K…Zippo. Uncle J says every time he plays with Cousin A, she wins and he loses. LOL. Bingo again in a few days. Maybe I’ll try my hand at Roulette tonight. I do well with Roulette.

After Bingo was Trivia. Yeah, we sucked. Did you know a baby porcupine is called a porcupette? Who knew? Well, apparently the team behind us, because they got it right. LOL. We got 15 out of 20 right. Would have been 17 (and the winning team) if we had only listened to Uncle J. LOL. Ah, well. Next time.

Formal night was tonight, so before we went in to dinner we got our pictures taken. I really hope they came out, because we all looked gooooood. Our dinner was at our “regular” dining room, Bernini. It was good. Crown Grill was better, of course, but still tonight was tasty. Most of our table had Shrimp Newburg, and it was good. I OD’d on shrimp, as I had the Shrimp Cocktail appetizer, too. 

Then at 9:30 at night we went back to the room where I took a picture of the sky before sunset. When I travel north I’m always amazed at how different the light is. Pretty chilly out there on the balcony, though. *grin* Especially as I was not wearing a jacket. Brrr.

Lynda the Guppy
aka Fish With Sticks
aka Fish Out of On the Water

One response

Leave a Reply

