Alaska Day 3: Juneau & The Whales

My entire family (me, mom, 2 aunts, 2 uncles, and 1 cousin) all took a cruise recently to Alaska. Now that we are home and have a stable internet connection, here are long travelogues from the trip, complete with pictures.

~Lynda

Today was an adventure! It started with mom, Uncle Dr J and I heading to the dock in Juneau at about 11:00 a.m. We were REALLY early for our excursions, but wanted to make sure we got where we were going. Found a nice bench to sit on, and just people watched. I ran into the “general store” there and found some Christmas ornaments (I collect them when I travel) and some bottles of water and soda. STILL no Diet Dr Pepper, though. *sigh* I’m starting to wonder if I have a teensy tiny addiction? Maybe?

After a while, Uncle Dr J left for his excursion. He had a variation on ours. We were just doing a whale watching tour on Juneau Bay, but he was doing a Mendenhall Glacier “Photo Safari” first, so he was on a different boat. 

Mom and I found where were supposed to go, with no help from the Princess employees or the tour guides *rolls eyes*, but we got there in the end. We met a really nice couple (Brad and Barb) who were both charming and helpful. The whale watching tour was, for the most part, uneventful. We did get to see a number of Humpback whales come up and then flip their tales (or show their flukes, according to the naturalist on board).

Photo courtesy of Uncle Dr J

Lots of pretty scenery, though, and a great look at how large the bay really is. We also got to see a couple of glaciers (Howard and…um….yeah….) and a whole PILE of seals. Literally. A pile. And they are LOUD. They weigh up to 800 pounds EACH, so ow you have an idea of scale. LOL.

Once we got back to the dock, Uncle J and Cousin A picked up mom and took her back to her room, and I went on to the Mt. Roberts Tramway. It was a $29 “excursion” which is just an aerial tram that takes you up the side of the mountain in front of the pier. There’s a fantastic gift shop up there, as well as some other things to do, including hiking, but I really just went for the photo ops and the shopping. *grin* and I scored on both counts. 

 

On the walk back from the Tramway, I found the Alaska Commercial Fishermen’s Memorial. It was a really wonderful memorial. It’s this little half-circle with a few stone benches and names engraved in the wall. It’s a quiet, peaceful little spot which looks out over the water. 

As I turned to leave, I spotted this wonderful cross. It hangs on the railing facing the very center of the memorial, and, while I’m not usually a big fan of religious icons of any sort, I thought this was beautiful and perfect.

Tonight’s dinner was at Sabatini’s. Italian all the way. Very tasty, and excellent service, but really, I have yet to find anything to top the Crown Grill and their S’mores desserts. Although, I DID find something that would be a very close second. It was the Peanut Butter Cup at the International Cafe. It’s a little espresso cup filled with the lightest, creamiest peanut butter pudding EVER, and topped with this really delicate chocolate mousse. OMG YUM.

Next up: DOG SLEDS! 

Lynda the Guppy
aka Fish With Sticks
aka Fish Out of On the Water

 

Leave a Reply

